Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Databases

Databases Section Sidebar Menu

23 Nov

Healthcare Databases Advanced Search (HDAS) is changing

November 23, 2016 | By |

Have you seen the new Healthcare Databases Advanced Search?

04-hdas-alertsYou may have noticed that the Healthcare Databases Advanced Search (HDAS) site looks different.

This is where you can use Medline, Cinahl and other databases to search across thousands of journals to find the best evidence.

NICE has been working to improve the site and the new version is now live at https://hdas.nice.org.uk/.
Access to the old site will stop in December 2016.

More information on how to use and access the site available on our NHS healthcare databases webpage.

If you would like help navigating round the new site or have saved searches and alerts that you need to transfer, then please contact us.

10 Aug

Cornwall NHS Document Library

August 10, 2016 | By |

Clinical and corporate document library

This is a county-wide resource available to Cornwall NHS staff. It acts as a ‘memory’ for the healthcare community in Cornwall by storing all relevant local documents and creating a one-stop shop for easy retrieval.

Search the Cornwall Document Library using the simple search.

 

Mobile optimised guidelines

Access mobile device friendly versions of some of the clinical guidelines.

Mobile Guidelines website will not replace the Document Library as the full guidance documents will continue to be published there.

This website delivers summaries of clinical guidelines to mobile devices and so each of the documents has been formatted to display on a small screen.

 

 

11 Feb

Other healthcare databases

February 11, 2016 | By |

Additional sources of healthcare related information

Cochrane Library

Includes database of systematic reviews, central register of controlled trials.

PubMed

PubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

Link to full-text articles where available with Cornwall Health Library by visiting PubMed via this link.

Look for this button on the abstract which will take you directly to the article if available, or to an automatically completed request form in unavailable, which will be sent to the library.


Guides and online tutorials on using Pubmed are available on our training page.

TRIP Database

TRIP is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

As well as research evidence TRIP also allows clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.

Google Scholar

Cornwall Health Library electronic resources are searchable through Google Scholar.

To be able to see our holdings you will need do the following:

  • Click on the 3 bars at the top left of the Google Scholar home screen.
  • Go to Settings on Google Scholar and then click on Library Links.
  • Enter Cornwall as a keyword and then choose the single organisation you want to be able to see (you can additionally keep Open WorldCat ticked). For the CCG enter Kernow to search.

Once setup, if an article is accessible through our collection you will see the following next to the article title: “Cornwall Health Library – RCH“. Clicking this will give you a further link where you will need to login with your OpenAthens account and you will then be directed straight to your article.