Nursing and Midwifery

The Midwifery Electronic Resource Room (ERR) is a topic specific collection of electronic books, journals, guidance and current awareness bulletins that Cornwall Health Library service users may access.

Some resources may require an OpenAthens login.

Contact for nursing and midwifery in Cornwall Health Library:

Sinead Blowers, Subject Librarian for Nursing and Midwifery

What is OpenAthens and how do you join?

See the OpenAthens page for information on joining and managing your OpenAthens account.

Suggested reading list: Nursing Associates

Title Citation Access
A clinician’s brief guide to the Mental Capacity Act Nick Brindle …[et al] Request from library Print book
A nurse’s survival guide to drugs in practice Ann Richards Request from library Print book
Care planning: a guide for nurses Benita Wilson, Andrea Woollands and David Barrett Request from library Print book
Essentials of human anatomy and physiology Elaine N. Marieb, Suzanne M. Keller Request from library Print book
Focus on nursing pharmacology Amy M. Karch Request from library Print book
Foundation Clinical Nursing Skills edited by Charles Docherty and Jacqueline McCallum Request from library Print book
Fundamentals of Infection and Control: Theory and Practice Debbie Weston Request from library Print book
Fundamentals of nursing Patricia Potter [and three others] Request from library Print book
Learning to care: the nursing associate Ian Peate Request from library Print book
Medical microbiology : a guide to microbial infections: pathogenesis, immunity, laboratory investigation and control edited by Michael R. Barer …[et al] Request from library Print book
Mental Health Nursing Skills edited by Patrick Callaghan, John Playle, Linda Cooper Request from library Print book
Nursing and Healthcare Research at a Glance edited by Alan Glasper, Colin Rees; series editor Ian Peate Nursing and Healthcare Research at a Glance (OpenAthens) eBook
Palliative and end of life care in nursing Jane Nicol, Brian Nyatanga Request from library Print book
People skills Neil Thompson Request from library Print book
Respiratory nursing at a glance edited by Wendy Preston, Carol Kelly Request from library Print book
Ross and Wilson anatomy and physiology in health and illness Anne Waugh, Allison Grant Request from library Print book
The British Medical Association new guide to medicines and drugs chief medical editor Kevin M. O’ Shaughnessy Request from library Print book
The handbook for nurse associates and assistant practitioners Gillian Rowe …[et al] Request from library Print book
The handbook for nursing associates and assistant practitioners (2nd ed.) Gillian Rowe …[et al] Request from library Print book
The Royal Marsden Hospital Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedures (10th ed.) edited by Sara Lister, Justine Hofland, Hayley Grafton Request from library Print book The Royal Marsden Hospital Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedures eBook
Your foundation in health and social care (2nd ed.) edited by Graham Brotherton and Steven Parker Request from library Print book

PICO information and instructions

Suggested reading list: General Nursing

Content pending

Suggested Journal Articles: University of Plymouth

Content pending

Additional Information Sources

Title Coverage Access
British Journal of Healthcare Assistants Fulltext starts 01/2007 (starts volume 1) British Journal of Healthcare Assistants (OpenAthens) MAG Online
Truro & Penwith Library Catalogue College resources Truro and Penwith College website
Evidence Search Searches internet for websites recommended by NICE Evidence Search
UpToDate International evidence based summaries of conditions UpToDate
Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical and Cancer Nursing Procedures 10th edition Royal Marsden Manual website
Clinical Knowledge Summaries – CKS Evidence and guidance on best practice for managing conditions Clinical Knowledge Summaries
BMJ Best Practice Clinical decision making tool from BMJ BMJ Best Practice

Videos

Assistant Practitioner library interview
Plymouth Nursing Knowledge Spa induction 2020

Suggested books

Title Citation Access
A guide to supporting breastfeeding for the medical profession edited by Amy Brown and Wendy Jones (2020) Request from library Print book
Anatomy and physiology for midwives Jane Coad, Melvyn Dunstall and Kevin Pedley. – 4th ed (2020) Request from library Print book
Aromatherapy in midwifery practice Denise Tiran (2016) Request from library Print book
Breastfeeding answers made simple: a pocket guide for helping mothers Nancy Mohrbacher (2012) Request from library Print book
Complementary therapies for pregnancy and childbirth edited by Denise Tiran and Sue Mack. – 2nd ed (2000) Request from library Print book
Core curriculum for interdisciplinary lactation care Lactation Education Accreditation and Approval Review Committee ; edited by Suzanne Hetzel Campbell …[et al] (2019) Request from library Print book
Fetal monitoring in practice Donald Gibb, Sabaratnam Arulkumaran. – 4th ed (2017) Request from library Print book Fetal monitoring in practice (OpenAthens) eBook
Handbook of CTG interpretation: from patterns to physiology edited by Edwin Chandraharan (2017) Request from library Print book
Handbook of perinatal and neonatal palliative care Rana Limbo Request from library Print book
Hard pushed: a midwife’s story Leah Hazard (2019) Request from library Print book
Midwifery continuity of care: a practical guide Caroline Horner…[et al]. – 2nd ed (2019) Request with SWIMS Print book
Midwifery emergencies at a glance Denise (Dee) Campbell, Susan M. Carr (2018) Request from library Print book
Midwifery skills at a glance edited by Patricia Lindsay, Carmel Bagness, Ian Peate (2018) Request from library Print book
Neonatal intensive care nursing edited by Glenys Boxwell, Julia Petty and Lisa Kaiser. – 3rd ed (2020) Request from library Print book
Obstetric decision-making and simulation edited by Kirsty MacLennan, Catherine Robinson (2019) Request from library Print book
Oxford handbook of midwifery edited by Janet Medforth …[et al]. – 3rd ed (2017) Oxford handbook of midwifery (OpenAthens) eBook
Physical examination of the newborn at a glance Denise (Dee) Campbell, Lyn Dolby; series editor Ian Peate (2018) Request from library Print book
Prenatal and postnatal care: a woman–centered approach edited by Robin G. Jordan, Cindy L. Farley, Karen Trister Grace. – 2nd ed (2019) Request from library Print book
Problem-based obstetric ultrasound Basky Thilaganathan …[et al.] (2019) Request from library Print book
PROMPT: PRactical Obstetric Multi-Professional Training: course manual edited by Cathy Winter …[et al]. – 3rd ed (2017) Request from library Print book
PROMPT CiPP care of the critically ill pregnant or postpartum woman: course handbook edited by the PROMPT Editorial Team (2019) Request from library Print book
The breastfeeding atlas Barbara Wilson-Clay, Kay Hoover. – 6th ed (2017) Request from library Print book
The midwife’s labour and birth handbook edited by Vicky Chapman, Cathy Charles. – 4th ed (2018) Request from library Print book
The womanly art of breastfeeding Diane Eiessinger, Diana West and Teresa Pitman. – 8th ed (2010) Request from library Print book
Why birth trauma matters Emma Svanberg (2019) Request from library Print book
Why mothering matters Maddie McMahon (2017) Request from library Print book

Suggested journals

Title Coverage Access
BJOG : an International Journal of Obstetrics and Gynaecology Fulltext starts 01/1997 (starts volume 104 issue 1) BJOG (OpenAthens) Wiley
British Journal of Midwifery Fulltext starts 01/1996 (starts volume 4) British Journal of Midwifery (OpenAthens) MAG Online
Evidence Based Midwifery Fulltext starts 06/2011 Evidence Based Midwifery (OpenAthens) ProQuest
MIDIRS Midwifery Digest Fulltext starts 01/2006 MIDIRS Midwifery Digest (OpenAthens) OVID
Journal of Human Lactation Fulltext starts 12/1996 Journal of Human Lactation (OpenAthens) SAGE

National guidance

Title Source Year Access
Multiple pregnancy: antenatal care for twin and triplet pregnancies NICE 2011 Open Access

Local guidance

Subject Title Source Valid Until
Infant Feeding Infant Feeding Policy Helen Shanahan and Stephanie Heard Infant Feeding Coordinators Obs and Gynae Directorate 10th October 2021

Resources

Title Access
BMJ Best Practice Login with OpenAthens
UpToDate Login through OpenAthens (or go straight in via RCHT intranet A-Z)

University of Plymouth

For students, Cornwall Health Library provide NHS Health Education England resources for University of Plymouth healthcare students to use during the time of their course. 

These resources are also available to them if they continue employment in Cornwall healthcare.

Library resources are provided in print format (books and some journals) and in digital form (online journal databases & other NHS healthcare tools such as BMJ Best Practice, UpToDate & NICE Guidelines etc).  These are available on our Knowledge and Library Hub (KLHUB)

You will be able to access our KLHUB using an OpenAthens account.  This can be set up using your NHS email placement address here

Or, if you do not have an NHS email address, through your University of Plymouth email address.

Librarians at Cornwall Health Library are available for healthcare students to book appointments with (1-2-1 or group sessions) to help you with all different aspects of your course.

Your Cornwall Health Library Subject Librarian is Sinead Blowers (she/her/hers). 

Sinead Blowers

She can be contacted for any queries/appointments here: Sinead.blowers@nhs.net or rutsblowers@plymouth.ac.uk or telephone 01872 256441

Sinead is available mon-fri, 8am-4pm.

Subject Guides

To save you time, we have collated all of the key resources for your course in this Nursing Subject Guide (link to training)

It is recommended that you use both sets of resources through your courses and your employment to help your assignments, research and everyday healthcare practice.

Page last reviewed: 28 July, 2022

Google Translate

Text Size

Change font

Contrast